2014

Looking back on this list of my 2013 resolutions, I realized that I did pretty good! Considering that my overall goal was to increase my general health, my first visit to a naturopathic doctor and my second visit to a naturopathic doctor were a great start, in that they prompted what has now become a dairy-free, gluten-free lifestyle. I am feeling 90% better than I did before I decided to make that change to my everyday diet. I say 90% because the other 10% is currently filled with my re-addiction to sugar (thanks, Christmas). Once all the chocolate is out of the house, it’s gone. I will hopefully switch back to being satisfied by fruit, like the most delicious green grapes we got the other day. So juicy and yum!

I didn’t get around to working out at all. I always ended up making excuses. I told myself I would start when I had someone to start with me. I told myself I would start when I had more time. But the problem was, I didn’t make time, and I can’t rely on other people for the motivation to do what’s right for me. This year is going to be different, because I signed up for a 5 week Introduction to Yoga course that starts tomorrow! No more excuses – it is paid for, I bought a yoga mat, and I’ll be doing it all by myself. I’m nervous and excited all at once.

All in all, I feel like I was pretty successful with 2013 resolutions. But this year I didn’t feel like making a list of specific things to accomplish. That’s what my 30 before 30 list is for. A few weeks ago, I was inspired by this post about resolutions by Kathleen Shannon, and it really resonated with me. I love the idea of developing 5 words to use as general guidelines for how I wish to feel in 2014. I will try to remember these words throughout the year and consider whether or not I’m living up to their meanings. Words hold a lot of power and if I focus my energy on them enough, I know that they have the potential to help guide my actions and decisions.

Without further ado, here are my words for 2014:

DutchieLove_2014Resolution_Mindful

Mindful: attentive, aware

To me, being mindful represents my needs versus my wants, quality versus quantity, and things versus memories. I feel like this word holds meaning both for the things and the people who surround me. Being mindful will be especially important as we move into our new home in a few months. I want our new home to be a haven filled with pieces that perform a necessary function or that we garner true enjoyment from. I want our home to be filled with quality items that are carefully considered and will be passed proudly through the family from generation to generation, rather than “waste more, want more” filler furniture that serves an immediate purpose but will end up in a landfill one day. Being mindful also means putting more energy into making memories with the people that matter the most to me, and really investing in a smaller number of key relationships rather than spreading myself thin over many. Things will eventually lose importance and fade, but memories bring happiness for much longer.

DutchieLove_2014Resolution_Grateful

Grateful: warmly or deeply appreciative of kindness or benefits received

After starting a gratitude journal in November, I’ve realized that finding joy in the little things in life helps me focus on all that I have in my life, rather than what I don’t. It’s easy to fall into the comparison trap when everything is so immediately accessible on the internet – pictures of perfect houses, perfect recipes, the seemingly perfect lives of others with more money, better jobs, happier children. The fact of the matter is, I am blessed. I have everything I could possibly want in order to create my own happiness, I just have to realize that! Happiness is fresh socks from the dryer, a husband that tells me I’m beautiful, long chats on the phone with my favorite cousin, a best friend that knows exactly how to cheer me up, and time spent with my family. All I need to do is stop, enjoy the moment, reflect on the happiness that it brings me, and be grateful for it.

DutchieLove_2014Resolution_Empowered

Empowered: to give power or authority to

I want to feel like I’m in charge of myself. I alone have the power to eat healthy, get active, and practice a little self-love. I want to learn to take control of my emotions and my reactions to circumstances beyond my control. I want to better myself and do what is right for my body and my well-being, and I want to learn to banish the little voice inside my head that tells me “I can’t.” I want to surround myself with people who strive to be positive rather than negative, as motivation to become the type of person that does the same. I want to be strong and sure.

DutchieLove_2014Resolution_Nourished

Nourished: to strengthen, build up, or promote

This is an extremely personal one for me. After a year of restlessness and trying to figure out what was “missing”, and after a meaningful heart to heart with my mama, I realized that I need to nourish my soul. I need to focus on what is important to me, what I believe in, and what gives my life meaning. I need to nourish my brain by pushing myself to learn new things, challenge myself to go outside of my comfort zone, and put more effort into the relationships in my life. I need to learn to disconnect more often from technology, and just BE.

DutchieLove_2014Resolution_Accepting

Accepting: amenable, open

I want to be more open and more accepting about things that I can’t control. I want to accept myself for who I am, flaws included. I want to be more forgiving and more understanding with others. I want to be open to new experiences that present themselves. I want to let go every once in a while and realize that nothing is perfect, no one is perfect, and that is OK. I read somewhere that crumbs on the counter are dinner’s confetti, and that made me smile (if you know me, you know I loathe a crummy counter). It’s all about looking at things from a different angle.

So there you have it. My guidelines for 2014! I think for my next artsy crafty project I might try to illustrate these words somehow to put on my vanity to remind myself of them every morning. What do you think? What kind of resolutions do you try to stick to every year? Will you give 5 words a try this time around?

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. grateful resonates with me these days especially as I reflect on some of the thoughts I have been reading from Ann VosKamp in her devotions found on her website a holy experience.
    Love you Nicole!
    Auntie Michelle

Leave a Reply

