The Hills are Alive…with the Sound of Music!

dutchie-love-choir

This post has nothing to do with my favorite musical of all time. This post is written to celebrate the fact that I joined a choir, which is another goal on my 30 Before 30 list to cross off! The most common reaction I’m getting to this statement is “You SING?”, so here’s a bit of a background story for you.

I’ve always loved to sing. I’m that annoying person in any given social situation that hums or sings along with songs on the radio, in shopping malls, even in an elevator if the muzak is tickling my fancy. I was in choir all through junior high and high school, and I sang during worship services in church while growing up. I played piano for a few years in my adolescence also, until my favorite teacher packed up and left to live in Europe, and I knew I’d never have another teacher like her. Looking back, it was a poor excuse to stop playing and I wish I hadn’t! One of these days when Husbie and I find our house, I hope that there’s room for a piano so that I can pick it up again.

After finishing high school it never really occurred to me that I could continue singing in a community choir. I just kept occasionally singing at church, and I still sing along with the radio. Last year around this time I started looking for a choir to join. I asked a good friend of mine who is quite involved in Edmonton’s music scene if there were any that she would recommend, and she convinced me to attend a Christmas concert by Vocal Alchemy to see what they were like. I met the conductor Jordan Van Biert who was very warm and encouraging, and I wished with every fiber of my being that I was up on that stage with the choir, singing! I figured that was as good a sign as any that I should join them, and so this September, I did.

I’m an alto through and through. I LOVE to harmonize rather than sing the main melody line. I’ve discovered that I’m rather rusty in my music theory (quitting piano lessons will do that to you), and I’m having to reintroduce myself to the language that accompanies singing. Speaking of language – I’m currently learning pieces in both Latin and German which is super fun! Although at this point I can’t even begin to understand what I’m singing – I’ve been breaking everything down into phonetic syllables that are easy to sing rather than paying much attention to the meaning of the songs (insert sheepish grin here).

dutchie-love-choir

This weekend we had a Fall choir retreat at a church just off of Whyte Avenue, which basically means a Friday-night-all-day-Saturday-singing-extravaganza! We spent a bit more time socializing and getting to know other members of the choir, during which I discovered that I’m distantly related to another singer! Apparently her grandparents and my grandparents are cousins, which I only figured out after I recognized her last name as it is also my maiden name…small world! We also had sectional rehearsals, which is nice because we got a bit more focused practice on our notes alone as a section rather than with the whole choir at once.

Everyone is extremely friendly and I’m so glad that I’ve joined them. There are some members that have been singing with the choir since it began about 12 years ago! I could definitely see this as something I continue with and learn to love even more. Music really is so lovely and singing is such a great way to relax and express emotion. With that being said, here’s a bit of information about the season and the three concerts that we will be performing! Hope to see you there :)

VA-13_14-Postcard-02

Leave a Reply

