Oma’s Apple Pie – Dairy Free and Gluten Free

IMG_4063

First of all, I apologize for the crappy iPhone photos. This was a total spontaneous baking experiment and I didn’t think to take nice photos in case the experiment failed. But it DIDN’T, and this PIE is AMAZING. This is the second gluten and dairy free pie I’ve tried…the first being a delicious mini peach pie baked for me by a coworker ever so thoughtfully. I have a history with this particular pie though, because this is my Oma’s apple pie, which means it sits high atop a baking pedestal of goodness and nostalgia. Oma’s apple pie is less of a traditional apple pie, and more of an apple crumble crossed with a sugar cookie crust. It’s basically the best apple pie ever, and I’ve been craving it and hoping it was something I could one day re-create in order to fit within my new diet.

My Oma’s original recipe was a mixture of margarine, sugar and flour for the crust, with tart apples par boiled in lemon juice, sugar and cinnamon for the filling. They’re the simplest set of ingredients, so I imagined it would be pretty easy to substitute with dairy-free and gluten-free options.

I convinced my Bestie to join me for the baking experiment, and we made the following recipe that I’m pretty happy with for a first attempt!

For the crust:
2 cups Soy-Free Earth Balance spread
1 1/4 cups white sugar (this is something I want to play around with in the future – thoughts on cane sugar or coconut sugar? I’m unsure of their sweetness)
4 cups Bob’s Red Mill All-Purpose Gluten-Free flour
1 tsp xantham gum
1 tsp vanilla

You’ll need a few pinches of cinnamon and sugar to sprinkle on top of the pie as well :)

For the filling:
8-10 Granny Smith apples, peeled and cut into small chunks
1 large lemon, juiced
1 tsp white sugar
1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon

Mix together ingredients for the crust and press about half of the dough into the bottom of an ungreased 9″x13″ glass baking dish. This part doesn’t have to be pretty because this pie is pretty casual and like I said, it ends up more like a crumble anyways!

IMG_4056

In the meantime, peel and cut the apples into small chunks (you could go even smaller than I have pictured here if preferred), and place into a pot on medium-low heat with the juice from a large lemon. Par boil the apples (a quick browning), adding small amounts of water if a bit more liquid is required. Once slightly soft, add in the cinnamon and sugar. Once coated, spread the apples evenly over top of the crust in the baking dish.

IMG_4060

Once you’ve got all the apples in an even layer over the bottom crust, take the remaining half of the pie crust dough and crumble it on top of the apples. I like crumbling into small and medium-sized chunks, and covering as much of the apples as possible. You’ll still see bits of the apples peeking through, and that’s perfect. Once all of the remaining dough is crumbled on top, sprinkle with a few pinches of cinnamon and sugar.

Pop it in the oven for 400°C for 10 minutes, and then another 30 minutes at 350°C. Once it’s done cooking, let cool for 15 minutes and then DIG IN! For an extra special treat, top with home-made coconut ice cream!
IMG_4061

It’s been less than a week and this pie is almost all gone…I’ve been enjoying a slice every night after work! Don’t worry, I let my Bestie keep some too :)

Leave a Reply

